Evo India May  2019

Driver selection programme for the second edition of Ameo Cup announced

Registrations are now open and will close on January 22

Volkswagen has announced the opening of driver selection programme for the upcoming Ameo Cup racing series. The races will take place on all three circuits in India including MMRT in Chennai, Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore and Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida, UP. One has to pay registration fees of Rs 6000 to enter the programme. A refundable caution deposit of Rs 15,000 is mandatory, in case of any damage during the event.

Selections will take place on 27 and 28 January at the Indi Karting Track, Kharadi, Pune, where karting sessions will be conducted and drivers will be selected based on their performance.

Ameo Cup 2018 will feature 20 drivers in a total of 10 races. Official supplier for the event is MRF tyres. This is the eighth edition of Volkswagen touring race car series and the second edition of the Ameo Cup.

Karminder Singh won the top honors in the 2017 edition of the Ameo Cup series. The 2017 Ameo Cup car is powered by 1.8 TSI motor that produces 202bhp and is coupled to a 6-speed sequential gearbox. We drove the car last year and you can read about it here. For the 2018 edition, Volkswagen has not made any official announcements yet about the technical details of the car.

Facebook Comments
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top