Jeep Compass launched at Rs 14.95 lakh

With its killer pricing, Jeep intends to kill several birds with one shot

After keeping us waiting for months, FCA has finally launched the Jeep Compass at a starting price of Rs 14.95 lakh; thus putting it in direct competition with several cars including the Hyundai Creta, Mahindra XUV 500, Renault Duster and even sedans such as Honda City and Skoda Octavia.

The entry level Jeep comes with the choice of a 2-litre diesel and a 1.4-litre turbocharged petrol. The diesel unit churns out a healthy 170bhp and 350Nm of torque. The petrol is sourced from the Fiat 500 and makes 160bhp and 260Nm. Currently, the Compass is being offered only with a 6-speed manual gearbox on the diesel. A 7-speed auto box is available as an option only on the petrol. However, the petrol loses out on the 4WD drive option. Being a Jeep, the Compass gets four driving modes as well — Auto, Snow, Sand and Mud with the 4WD trim.

The Compass is being launched with three trim options – Sport, Longitude and Limited which can be configured in 10 different ways. The basic Sport variant gets a 5-inch touchscreen infotainment system, 16-inch wheels, dual airbags, ABS+EBD, all disc setup and electronic parking brake. The longitude variant will get you electronically adjustable ORVMs, cornering fog lamps, 17-inch wheels, keyless entry, push button start/stop, reverse parking, 7-inch screen, Android Auto and Apple CarPlay and Roof rails. The automatic transmission is available only on the Limited variant, which also gets LED tail lamps, reverse camera, McKinley leather upholstery, dual tone roof, driving modes and 6 airbags.


1.4L Multiair Petrol

Sport Rs 14,95,000
Limited Rs 18,70,000 (AT)
Limited Option Rs 19,40,000 (AT)


2L Multijet Diesel

Sport Rs 15,45,000
Longitude Rs 16,45,000
Longitude Option Rs 17,25,000
Limited Rs 18,05,000
Limited Option Rs 18,75,000
Limited 4×4 Rs 19,95,000
Limited Option 4×4 Rs 20,65,000

All prices ex-showroom, India.


About the author

Team Evo India

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Login via any of these platforms to post your comment.